Mill House Classic 15K
Sunday, November 5, 2006

An intense crowd of runners showed up for the extra-early 7:30 starting time at the KTC's annual Mill House Classic 15 kilometer road race.
Just a few minutes into the race, two distinct packs formed.
Matt Lawhern, Tom Dever, John Hood and Tyson Murphy (L-R) led the way.
Not far back, three determined racers gave chase.
Five miles into the race, Dever and Lawhern appeared to be pulling away.
But Sevierville's John Hood stayed in contact.
Meanwhile, Gennie Barrett established herself once again as the woman to beat.
Lawhern broke away and charged to the victory.
Hood overtook Dever in the final miles to finish second.
Dever, the 2006 Big South Fork winner, finished third overall.
Gen Barrett, who also was a winner at Big South Fork, as well as at Fireball, won going away in the women's race.
Marsha Morton finished strong for second overall female.
Melanie Cox continued her successful comeback from injury, running in third place in the women's division.
Thanks, as always, to the Blount County Sheriff's Department for their assistance with the race.
Seems like there's fewer and fewer of these along the race course each year as more and more houses and subdivisions replace the woods.  But the ones still standing are majestic and remind us of simpler days and quieter times. 

Please join us next year as we return to the beautiful land nearby the wonderful Mill House Restaurant, as we once again celebrate the Mill House Classic 15K.

photos and webpage layout by Michael "Frozen Fingers" deLisle